Q: What are the SAT Subject Tests? (SAT II)A: SAT Subject Tests are tests on specific subjects, such as English, history, mathematics, science, and various foreign languages.

NOTE: Coming into effect for admissions of fall 2012: The UC system does not require SAT IIs any longer, but some private schools still do.

Q: How long are the SAT IIs and how many can I take?

A: The SAT Subject Tests are each one hour long. You may take up to 3 tests at one time. You choose the order in which to take the tests.

Q: How do I sign up for the SAT IIs?

A: You need to sign up for the SAT Subject Tests on your own. You can do this through the College Board website: www.collegeboard.com

Q: What is the difference between the SAT and SAT Subject tests?

A: The SAT tests your abilities and the SAT Subject Tests test the knowledge that you have acquired in a particular area.

Q: Which SAT IIs should I take?

A: You can take Biology, Physics, and History as soon when you finish taking class. Foreign language tests should be taken at the end of the year when you complete your highest level in the language.

Q: What is the difference between Math 1 and Math 2?

A: The Math 2 Subject Test tests students at a higher level of math. Some colleges will not even accept Math 1 scores.

Q: How do I know which SAT Subject tests to take?

A: Choose your SAT IIs based on your future major. For example, if you want to major in engineering/science, take the Math IIC.